logo_home

ITEMS – F.A.Q.

Hidden Characters

When a hero (or enemy) is Hidden (like the Shae power, for example), he cannot be targeted directly from enemies. This also includes the “targeting” of the closest hero with the {+} behaviour for enemies. So basically, the Hidden hero does not exist except for AoE or similar effects (like powers indicating “all heroes within 1 area…”).

Stunned Enemies

If an enemy becomes stunned in the middle of its movement (due to a reaction attack of a hero, for example), this enemy completes its movement and then skips the rest of its current enemy turn. The Stunned condition will be discarded at the end of its next (completely skipped) activation.

Enemy Activation

Each enemy behavior (including the otherwise condition) indicated and/or activated by an encounter card, enemy power, or Book of Secrets is considered an activation for the involved enemies.

Treasure Card

Discarded Treasure cards must be placed in the discard pile until the end of the Quest, then shuffled back into the deck.

Treasure cards on ground at the end of the Quest

At the end of a Quest, Treasure cards can be picked up by surviving heroes exactly as for Loot tokens or other Item cards (up to the maximum Item capacity of each hero). Players must select what is left behind, if they lack capacity to carry all items.

Companions

Additional clarifications about Companions:
• Cannot be unsummoned by its owner.
• The owner cannot focus the Companion’s attack.
• Once activated, the owner can’t interrupt and then resume the Companion activation.
• Can receive hero buffs, e.g. Thorgar’s “Bless.”
• Companions with the Hero Count set to 1 (or above) count as heroes for Spawn Formulas and similar effects.
• Enemies count Companions as heroes (except vengeful Master Enemies).

Combat Activity and Attacks, clarifications

You should separate these 2 concepts: “Combat activity” and “Attack.” The Combat activity is like a “coin” that can be spent to initiate a weapon attack, or use an Item, or use a power requiring a Combat (Red Fist icon) as “fuel” (See Activation Activities, section 6.5, page 24 of the Immortal Souls Rulebook).   An attack is performed by the HIT and DEF stages, using any Item or Power having a Damage Type: Slash, Pierce, Blunt, or Arcane and follows the Combat System rules. Especially during ACT II, you will  find many Hero Powers allowing a hero to perform an extra weapon attack spending 1 Action (so without spending the Combat activity).

Focusing an attack

Any hero’s personal Item or Power (not his companion) with a damage type (Slash, Pierce, Blunt, or Arcane) used to perform an attack can be focused (Action, before rolling HIT Dice).

Weapons and Powers attack effects.

Using items and powers attack effects is optional, unless directly specified.

Powers and Talents

The Soul Gem token indicates the number of Powers and Talents owned by the hero. The Number refers to the Power cards, while the * indicates Talent cards.  So, “1*” means 1 Power card AND 1 Talent card; “3**” means 3 Power cards AND 2 Talent cards.

Bags and Backpacks

Each of these Items offers additional storage in the Inventory BUT each item occupies 1 slot for itself. In addition, due to the Golden Rules, the same effect from the same source cannot be gained more than once, this means that each Hero can carry no more than 1 Bag and 1 Backpack, additional copies of these items carried by a single hero have no effects.

Multiple Critical effects on the same attack

Multiple Critical inflicted with the same attack do not stack, so it is NOT possible to inflict 2 Critical with just 1 attack, only the first Critical produce the effect and the others are wasted, same behavior for AoE and Bash.

Multiple Items or Powers with exactly the same card Name

The very same effects coming from multiple Items or Powers with exactly the same card Name, do not stack. For instance, this means that it is not possible to combine together the Dancing Lights power of Auriel and Onamor, both used with the same power Level, on the same enemy, they can be combined if used at different power levels instead.

Lethal Hits

Lethal Hits ignore Armor and Blue Shields, no matter if they are produced by Def Dice or other Items or Powers.

Rerolled Dice

It is not possible to store and/or use the previous result or a rerolled Die. For example, with a Red die showing a double Bolt, it is not possible to use the first Bolt to activate an effect and then the second bolt to reroll this die, if done, the effect activated with the first bolt must be ignored. The results obtained after the reroll can be spent as usual.

Orc King Master Enemy

Some of you think that the Orc King is too weak, so we have created a new, slightly improved version. You can download both current and new version from the Items/Files section of the Sword & Sorcery Website.

 

Storing Soul Points between ACT I and ACT II expansions

Heroes may have stored Soul Points from their previous Immortal Souls and/or Arcane Portal Quests, these points can be carried to Darkness Falls campaign within a maximum limit of 10 Soul points per hero {so from 20 to 50}, the exceeding points must be discarded in order keep the right challenging balance during ACT II Quests.